Research Papers
Download these research papers written by members of our team
Reforestation and Deforestation in Northern Luzon, Philippines: Critical Issues as Observed from Space

“Gay Jane Perez 1,2,*, Josefino C. Comiso 1,3, Lemnuel V. Aragones 1

, Harry C. Merida 1

and Perry S. Ong 4,†
1
Institute of Environmental Science and Meteorology, University of the Philippines Diliman,
Quezon City 1101, Philippines; josefino.c.comiso@nasa.gov (J.C.C.); laragones@iesm.upd.edu.ph (L.V.A.);
hemerida@up.edu.ph (H.C.M.)
2 Natural Science Research Institute, University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City 1101, Philippines
3 Earth Sciences Division, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD 20771, USA
4
Institute of Biology, University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City 1101, Philippines
* Correspondence: gpperez1@up.edu.ph; Tel.: +632-8981-3993
† Deceased.”

PERFORMANCE OF EMPIRICAL Ca-DERIVATION ALGORITHMS ON THE COASTAL WATERS OF BAGAC AND POLILLO

“Jamaica Pangasinan,Mark Jayson Felix1 and Gay Jane Perez University of the Philippines, Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines e-mail address: jamaica.pangasinan@gmail.com”

Modulation transfer function of a scanning hyperspectral imager

“Ralph Aaron S. Aguinaldo, Micherene Clauzette P. Lofamia, Mara Alain M. Maestro,

Andrew Rafael M. Bañas, and Maricor N. Soriano*
National Institute of Physics, University of the Philippines Diliman, Philippines

*Corresponding author: msoriano@nip.upd.edu.ph”

LAND COVER AND WATER TYPE CLASSIFICATION USING IMAGES CAPTURED BY THE PHLIPPINES’ FIRST EARTH-OBSERVING MICROSATELLITE DIWATA-1

“Jasper Madalipay, Gay Jane Perez, Louisse Anne Fulgencio, Mark Jayson Felix, Marco Macapagal,
Ellen Mae Leonardo, Francisco Miguel Felicio, Kaye Vergel and Shielo Namuco
Remote Sensing Product Development Project, PHL-Microsat Program, Institute of Environmental Science
and Meteorology, University of the Philippines Diliman
Email: jtmadalipay@up.edu.ph, gpperez1@up.edu.ph, lcfulgencio@up.edu.ph, mark_jayson.felix@upd.edu.ph,
mdmacapagal@up.edu.ph, ecleonardo@up.edu.ph, micofelicio@gmail.com, kookaye@gmail.com,
sbnamuco@up.edu.ph

ESTIMATION OF CHLOROPHYLL-A CONCENTRATION ON OLIGOTROPHIC OPEN WATERS OF THE PHILIPPINES: A CASE STUDY FOR POLILIO

“Mark Jayson B. Felix, Jamaica N. Pangasinan, and Gay Jane P. Perez
University of the Philippines, Diliman, Quezon City, 1001, Metro Manila, Philippines,
Email: mjfelix@nip.upd.edu.ph”

Determination of Cloud-top Height through Three-dimensional Cloud Reconstruction using DIWATA-1 Data

Ellison Castro, Tetsuro Ishida, Yukihiro Takahashi, Hisayuki Kubota, Gay Jane Perez & Joel S. Marciano Jr

ASSESSMENT OF DIFFERENT IMAGE TRANSFORMATION METHODS ON DIWATA-1 SMI IMAGES USING STRUCTURAL SIMILARITY MEASURE

“J. N. H. Sempio1, R. K. D. Aranas1, B. P. Lim1, B. J. Magallon1, M. E. A. Tupas2, and I. A. Ventura1
1STAMINA4Space Program, University of the Philippines, Quezon City, Philippines
2Department of Geodetic Engineering, University of the Philippines, Quezon City, Philippines”

A portable image scanning platform based on a rotating mirror mechanism

“Micah Jibril P. Alampay, John Ernest Chua, Ralph Aaron S. Aguinaldo,

Andrew Bañas, and Maricor Soriano*

National Institute of Physics, University of the Philippines Diliman, Philippines

*Corresponding author: jing@nip.upd.edu.ph”

A motion-free pushbroom scanner testing platform

“Noniel Paul A. Novabos,*

Jholeeh Charls T. Madalipay, Paul Leonard Atchong C. Hilario, and
Maricor N. Soriano

National Institute of Physics, University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines

*Corresponding author: npnovabos@stamina4space.upd.edu.ph”

Development of the Satellite Bus System for PHL-MICROSAT

Sakamoto, Y., Gonzalez, A., Espiritu, J.P., Labrador, J.L., Oliveros, J.M., Kuwahara, T., and Yoshida, K., “Development of the Satellite Bus System for PHL-MICROSAT,” Japan Geoscience Union, Makuhari, Chiba, Japan, MTT06-04, 2015.